Other players can be removed from your friends list either from the Friends section of your profile or from the unwanted friend's profile or mini profile.
From your main friends list, you will see the Remove Friend icon in the lower right of each friend's entry. Click it and confirm to remove them from your list.
From the mini profile (the menu that pops up when you click on their image from your friend bar or when you click on their avatar) select "Block or Flag" and then "Remove Friend".
From the unwanted friend's main profile page, the "-Friend" button will appear at the bottom of the profile window (where Add Friend) is displayed for non-friends.
Post is closed for comments.